President’s Message

October 2021

Our chapter annually participates in the AAFP Congress of Delegates (COD) which is our national Academy’s policy-making body. Its membership consists of two delegates and two alternates from each constituent chapter and from the member constituencies including new physicians, residents, students, and other constituency groups represented at the National Conference of Constituency Leaders.

Because of the ongoing pandemic, this year’s in-person congress was postponed and the leaders of our national academy decided to proceed with the elections virtually in a Special Session that was held the last week of September. The Congress elected new officers and four members to serve on the Board of Directors for the following 12 months. During this time we were pleased to have the opportunity to announce the candidacy of our own candidate, Dr. Kisha Davis, for Director for the 2022 AAFP Board of Directors! This is important and exciting for our chapter for many reasons – putting Maryland in the spotlight with a high-level candidate.  Our long history of courageous, innovative and determined leaders on all levels of organized medicine is worthy of preservation and continued development, making her candidacy especially important. Dr. Davis is a long-standing, strong leader of our chapter and elevating her as a candidate for our national board was approved at a recent board meeting. We’re very proud to put her name forward and as Dr. Davis begins her campaign for the upcoming year, you’ll hear more in upcoming issues of the Capsule.

When the members of COD can finally meet in person for the postponed session in February, our delegation will participate in hearings of the five reference committees: Advocacy, Education, Health of the Public and Science, Organization and Finance, and Practice Enhancement. Reference committees are committees of the COD that consider business (resolutions) items referred to them for recommendation to the COD for debate and action. Our delegation (Dr’s Yvette Oquendo Berruz, Gene Newmier, Kisha Davis, Marc Wilson) will represent the great state of Maryland well and will keep you, our chapter members, informed of the process and issues we’ll be addressing at that time on your behalf. Stay tuned…


Jocelyn Hines, MD

MDAFP President


© Copyright 2021 MDAFP or MDAFP Foundation • 210 Green Bay Rd • Thiensville, WI 53092 • Phone: 888-894-2606 • E-Mail: