MAFP Past Presidents

1948-49 S. Lloyd Johnson, M.D.*
1949-50 Hubert L. Porterfield, M.D.*
1950-51 Charles F. O’Donnell, M.D.*
1951-52 E. I. Baumgartner, M.D.*
1952-53 Harold B. Plummer, M.D.*
1953-54 Lauriston Keown, M.D.*
1954-55 Merrill M. Cross, M.D.*
1955-56 Nathan E. Needle, M.D.*
1956-57 Robert W. Farr, M.D.*
1957-58 Archie R. Cohen, M.D.*
1958-59 J. Roy Guyther, M.D.*
1959-60 Walter A. Anderson, M.D.*
1960-61 Andrew C. Mitchell, M.D.
1961-62 William T. Layman, M.D.*
1962-63 Wolcott L. Etienne, M.D.*
1963-64 Charles P. Crimy, M.D.
1964-65 Guy M. Reeser, M.D.*
1965-66 G. Overton Himmelwright, M.D. ** Oct., 1965 – May, 1967
1966-67 G. Overton Himmelwright, M.D.*
1967-68 John G. Ball, M.D.*
1968-69 Leon W. Berube, M.D.
1969-70 William Stewart, M.D.*
1970-71 John T. Chissell, M.D.*
1971-72 Harry L. Knipp, M.D.*
1972-73 Daniel I. Welliver, M.D.*
1973-74 J. Richard Lilly, M.D.
1974-75 Howard N. Weeks, M.D.
1975-76 J. Nelson McKay, M.D.*
1976-77 Harry Paul Ross, M.D.*
1977-78 Hans J. Koetter, M.D.*
1978-79 C. Earl Hill, M.D.
1979-80 John B. Umhau, Jr., M.D.*
1980-81 Larry G. Tilley, M.D.
1981-82 M. Dudley Phillips, M.D.*
1982-83 George L. Morningstar, M.D.*
1983-84 Marion Friedman, M.D.*
1984-85 Dean H. Griffin, M.D.
1985-86 David P. Zajano, M.D.
1986-87 Louis O. Olsen, M.D.
1987-88 A. Clark Holmes, M.D.*
1988-89 Rose Mary Hatem Bonsack, M.D.
1989-90 Joseph W. Zebley, III, M.D.
1990-91 Lee E. Gresser, M.D.
1991-92 Joshua R. Mitchell, III, M.D.*
1992-93 Joseph P. Connelly, Jr., M.D.
1993-94 Abdul Nayeem, M.D.*
1994-95 Christine A. Marino, M.D.
1995-96 John B. Littleton, M.D.*
1996-97 Michael A. Moskewicz, M.D.
1997-98 Kevin S. Ferentz, M.D.
1998-99 Richard Colgan, M.D.
99-2000 Leonard H. Raucher, M.D.
2000-01 William D. Hakkarinen, M.D.
2001-02 William P. Jones, M.D.
2002-03 Ben E. Oteyza, M.D.
2003-04 Joyce Evans, M.D.
2004-06 Howard Wilson, M.D.***
2006-07 Andrea Allen, M.D.
2007-08 Joseph W. Zebley, III, M.D.****
2008-10 Yvette L. Rooks, M.D.
2010 -12 Eugene Newmier, D.O
2012-14 Yvette Oquendo-Berruz, M.D.
2014-16 Kisha Davis, M.D.

* Deceased
** Extended officer terms from October, 1965 to May, 1967. Officers began terms at
annual Spring Meeting to coincide with change of fiscal year of AAFP.
***2-year terms beginning 2004. ****Completing term

Note: Clarification S. Lloyd Johnson, M.D. of Catonsville was chairman of the organizing group when the Maryland Academy of General Practice was granted its charter by the American Academy in June, 1948. He served as chairman of the first organizational meeting of the Maryland Academy of General Practice held in Baltimore in February of 1949. Dr. Johnson actually declined the presidency, however, because of chronic illness. Hubert L. Porterfield, M.D. of Hagerstown was the MAGP’s first elected president in 1949.

© Copyright 2018 MDAFP or MDAFP Foundation • 210 Green Bay Rd • Thiensville, WI 53092 • Phone: 888-894-2606 • E-Mail: